Finding your next read
Practical craft for people building for the web.
Explore DevelopmentFinding your next read
THE FINDERPRESS TOOL DIRECTORY
Explore this tool and check the official listing for its latest features and requirements.
01 / SOURCE DETAILS
Allow users with specific WordPress roles to delete themselves from the Your Profile page or anywhere Shortcodes can be used using the Shortcode [plugin_delete_me /] . Settings for this plugin are found on the Settings -> Delete Me subpanel. Multisite and Network Activation supported. How it works: A user clicks the delete link, which defaults to “Delete Account”, but can be changed. User is asked to confirm they want to delete themselves. If confirmed, user and all their Posts, Links, and (optionally) Comments are deleted. Deleted user (optionally) redirected to landing page URL, default is homepage, can be changed or left blank. Settings available: Enable or disable Network Wide, which applies a single page of settings across all Multisite network Sites. Select specific WordPress roles (e.g. Subscriber) you want to allow to delete themselves using Delete Me. class and style attributes of the delete link. <a> tag clickable content of the delete link. Landing page URL. Your Profile confirmation page Heading, Warning, Password (optionally require password), Button. Enable or disable delete link on the Your Profile page. Javascript confirm text for Shortcode. Enable or disable Javascript confirm for Shortcode. Enable or disable using a form (require password) instead of a link for Shortcode. Multisite: Delete user from entire Network or current Site only. Delete comments. E-mail notification when a user deletes themselves.
02 / SOURCE DETAILS
Basic Install automatically in WordPress on the Plugins -> Add New subpanel or upload the delete-me folder to the /wp-content/plugins/ directory. Activate the plugin on the Plugins panel in WordPress. Go to the Settings -> Delete Me subpanel, check the WordPress roles you want to allow to delete themselves using Delete Me, and click Save Changes. Thats it! The delete link will be placed automatically near the bottom of the Your Profile page for roles you allowed. If you prefer the delete link be on your front-end, please read below. Advanced: Shortcode Usage Note: To prevent the delete link from appearing on the Your Profile page, uncheck the setting Link Enabled . Custom Profile Page – Copy and paste the Shortcode [plugin_delete_me /] into the Post or Page you’ve created. Theme File – To call the Shortcode in one of your .php Theme files, use <?php echo do_shortcode( '[plugin_delete_me /]' ); ?> . Text Widget – To use the Shortcode in a Text Widget, make sure the line add_filter( 'widget_text', 'do_shortcode' ); appears in your Theme Functions (functions.php) file. Attributes – The attributes class, style, html, js_confirm_warning, landing_url may be used to override settings, but are not required. They provide site owners the ability to use multiple languages and/or multiple links within the same site or even the same page each configured differently. Advanced: Translation Note: Languages directory for plugins: /wp-content/languages/plugins Choose a translation method: A) Get or provide translations of this plugin on WordPress.org . Alternatively, some language plugins (e.g. Polylang ) can download and install the publicly available language files for plugins. B) Create your own translations using the included delete-me.pot template file found in this plugin’s languages directory and the free tool Poedit . Once you have finished your translations, export and save them as a .mo file. Name the .mo file delete-me-{locale}.mo (e.g. delete-me-en_US.mo) Place the .mo file into the languages directory for plugins. If you’re using Poedit, it will create a .po file too. You should keep the .po file in order to open and save changes to your translations or to update the .po file with source text changes when an updated delete-me.pot file is released. Just be aware that the actual translations used by the plugin are inside the .mo file. Warning: If you place your translation files into this plugin’s languages directory instead of the directory shown above, they will be deleted or replaced with any the author might include when updating the plugin.
03 / SOURCE DETAILS
What happens to Posts, Links, and (optionally) Comments belonging to a deleted user? Most Post types and Comments are moved to Trash. Links are always deleted permanently. Does this plugin support WordPress Multisite? Yes, Network Activation and single Site activation are both supported. Users and their content will only be deleted from the Site they delete themselves from, other Network Sites will be unaffected. When using Multisite, are users deleted from the Network or only the Site deletion originated from? By default, users registered to multiple Sites on the Network are only deleted from the current Site and will remain registered to their remaining Sites. However, if the setting “Delete From Network” is checked, users will be deleted from the entire Network. Is it possible for a user to delete anyone but themselves? No, the user deleted is the currently logged in user, period. What does the Shortcode display when users are not logged in or their role is not allowed to delete themselves? Nothing, when using the self-closing Shortcode tag (i.e. [plugin_delete_me /] ). However, when the opening and closing Shortcode tags are used (i.e. [plugin_delete_me] Content [/plugin_delete_me] ), the content inside the tags will appear instead of the delete link. Where are users sent after deleting themselves? The Settings -> Delete Me subpanel lets you enter any URL you’d like to redirect deleted users to, set to homepage by default. You can leave “Landing URL” blank to have users remain at the same URL after deletion. Is there a confirmation before the user deletes themselves? Yes, the delete link on the Your Profile page leads to a pre-built confirmation page. You can optionally require users to confirm their password on this page before deletion. The Shortcode delete Link provides a Javascript confirm dialog [OK] [Cancel] by default, but may be disabled if preferred. Additionally, the Shortcode has a setting that provides a Form instead of the Link, which requires users to confirm their password. May I be notified of users who delete themselves and what was deleted? Yes. The Settings -> Delete Me subpanel has a setting called “E-mail Notification”, just check the box and save changes. Does this plugin store any personal information about users? No, the only data stored is related to the plugin’s settings which are located on the Settings -> Delete Me subpanel.
KEEP EXPLORING